Go to page contentGo to menu

Author's projects

Chamber version of Mozart’s Requiem

Chamber version of Mozart’s Requiem

Anna Maria Staśkiewicz – violin
Maria Sławek – violin
Katarzyna Budnik-Gałązka – viola
Artur Rozmysłowicz – viola
Rafał Kwiatkowski – cello
Marcin Zdunik – cello

W. A. Mozart’s Requiem in d minor 626 arranged by Marcin Zdunik for six string instruments.

The idea of arranging Mozart’s masterpiece for the string sextet refers to Peter Lichtenthal’s string quartet version, which was compiled shortly after Mozart’s death. Despite many interesting details Lichtenthal’s arrangement lacks much of musical material composed by Viennoise master. Some musical subjets and counterpoints are missing due to limited performing forces. In string sextet one can present all the musical content of Requiem. When arranging, I tried to use different techniques and articulations to make the chamber version as colourful as possible.